Summer Camp 2013


1010804_10152941884115431_1130162271_nLast week, I had the honor of serving as the Summer Camp Scoutmaster once again.  This was the 7th time I have served in this role.  All of the experiences have been great and rewarding but this camp was also very trying and stressful.  I learned a lot last week and grew some as an adult leader and as an adult in general.

The highlight of the week for me was being at camp for the first time with both of my sons.  Drew is 17 and an Eagle and Cameron is 12 and advanced to Star while we were at camp.  Cameron and I went to camp together last summer at Slippery Falls and I had hoped to have Drew with us but him and my wife decided that Sea Base sounded better than the southern Oklahoma heat and humidity.  I can’t imagine why.

Cameron and the rest of the Scouts spent the week working on merit badges and honing their Scouting skills.  Cameron earned merit badges in Rifle, Environmental Science and Indian Lore.  He still has some requirements left in Orienteering.  IMG_0225

Because of his age and the fact that he is already and Eagle, Drew got to be an ‘adult’.  He spent the week hanging out in camp, mentoring the older leadership Scouts and going to town with whoever he could bum a ride from.  I think he ate New Mexican food five of the seven days we were there.  He also learned that New Mexico has some really hot Green Sauce and the sopapillas there are huge.

It was also a great opportunity for he and I just to hang out together.  He will be 18 in a few months and a Senior in high school and this was one of the last chances we will have to hang out before he begins his life in the world.  I cherished every minute of it.

Thank you Scouting and Troop 168 for giving opportunities with my kids.  I can never repay what you have given me!!

Posted on July 8, 2013, in Boy Scouts, Camping, Merit Badges, Summer Camp and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Summer Camp 2013.

Comments are closed.

