Summer Camp 2012


Cameron and I

This year Troop 168 attended camp at our Council owned camp, Slippery Falls Scout Ranch.  The last time we were there was 2010.  Before that it had been 9 years since our Scouts had chosen to go to Slip.  This was my sixth Boy Scout summer camp as an adult leader.  Of all the camps I have attended I have to say that this is the best camp we have attended since I have been in the Troop.

One of the things (and there are many) that I will always remember about this summer camp is this was the first summer camp for my youngest son, Cameron. Another is that he earned Tenderfoot on the last night camp along with the rest of his patrol that were there.  Many of the Scouts in his “new Scout” patrol were ready to advance with the exception of making a Patrol Flag.  They created that at camp and then had Scoutmaster conferences and Boards of Review.

This was also the first time I had to go to camp without my oldest son, Drew.  My wife and him left on Wednesday of camp for their own adventure to the Florida National Sea Base.  They got to spend the week on a 71′ schooner called Pirates Lady.  They spent the week with other members of our Troop and District, snorkeling, fishing and sailing in the Florida Keys. 

I had a great time at camp with Cameron but I really missed not having Drew there.  Next year will be the last opportunity I get to go to camp with my sons btoh still a youth in the program.  I am looking forward to it and have been since 2007.

Posted on June 17, 2012, in Advancement, Boy Scouts, Camping, Florida Sea Base, High Adventure, Scouting, Summer Camp and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Summer Camp 2012.

Comments are closed.

