The Eagle Project


I am a procrastinator extraordinaire.  I can put off anything with the best of them.  But I act surprised when this trait passed down to my children.  My oldest son, Drew, earned the rank of Life Scout on July 17, 2009.  At the time he was just a few months short of his 14th birthday. 

Fast forward two years and he is closer to completing his Eagle but he still lacks the Personal Fitness and Personal Management merit badges and his project. For his project he will be refurbishing a parking lot at a local Camp Fire camp.

That is the easy part. The tough part is getting the kid to sit down and do the write-up. He is way smart and should have no problem doing it but like me he hates reading and writing is way up on that same list.  Couple that with the fact that he plays high school football, is active in a church youth group, recently finished tenure as our SPL, is very heavily involved in our Chapter’s OA Ceremonies team and has a  social life and it has been tough to motivate him.

But hope is on the horizon!  Last week the BSA released the 2012 Eagle Award that celebrates the 100th anniversary of the first Eagle Scout.  My son REALLY wanted the 2010 Eagle patch but he just did not have all of his stuff together to earn it.  When this was released last week I made darn sure he saw a picture of the patch and it had just the effect I was looking for!

Drew promptly announced that he wanted that patch and suddenly has a fire lit under him again.  Hopefully the procrastinator gene will take a vacation and we will see some progress.  I will keep you posted.

Posted on October 30, 2011, in Boy Scouts, Eagle Project, Eagle Scout, Scouting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on The Eagle Project.

Comments are closed.

