Help from a Friend


Recently I posted about losing weight to go to Philmont.  In looking for some help to do it I read the post on the True North blog by SM_Shawn about the Scout Nation Fit Club.  I was interested so I posted a link to it on my Facebook page and challenged the Scouters I know to join me.

I received a response that totally caught me off guard.  One of my Fraternity pledge brothers that I had not talked to in 19 years until we reconnected on Facebook offered to join me. Mark lives in Colorado and is a triathlete. He was a Boy Scout and has a son in Scouting that just crossed over to a Troop. 

Mark offered to motivate me by riding 10 miles or running one mile for every pound I lose.  I responded sure and just let it go as a nice jesture.  This last weekend he sent me a message on Facebook that if I will message him how much I lost for the week he will hold up his end of the bargain.  He was serious!  I feel very motivated to have someone I have not seen in two decades willing to step up and do something like this for me.  I am ready for week one to end so I get to hear about Mark sweating because of me.

Posted on June 15, 2011, in Boy Scouts, Helpful, Philmont, Scouting, Weight Loss and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks Darrin,
    i know how tough losing weight can be. Prior to the Ironman, I will post my “before” picture. You will be surprised. Hang in there, and continue to make small victories. The biggest 3 things I did was: watch what you eat; watch how much you eat; exercise. I did elliptical 45 min a day, 7 days a week for 6 months.
    I’m ready to ride 🙂
    maw

