Twilight Camp


Another year of twilight camp for the Baden-Powell Dsitrict is in the books. For the first time in years I did not have a son involved.  It was was a strange feeling but it was also a good feeling.  For the first time ever I got to serve as “staff”.  I spent the first couple of days (I was able to attend) taking pics for the district website and the closing slideshow at the closing campfire.  It was nice to be able to just roam around and not have any real responsibilites to fulfill. 

I said I did not have a son at camp but I did have a daughter.  My 10-yr-old daughter, Carly, went with me and found her way to the trading post where a Mom from our Troop was in charge and she made snow cones with another daughter of a staffer.  She was given a staff t-shirt and had a blast. 

 On Friday, my responsibility was running the trebuchet with our Troop’s Scoutmaster I wrote about a few days ago.  Every Cub and Webelos Scout was given an egg, styrofoam container and some packing material to protect the egg.  Their objective was to prevent the egg from breaking upon impact with the ground after being launched by the Trebuchet. 

There were about 175 Scouts at camp so we got quite a workout Friday evening.  The counterweight had around 200 lbs in it and we were only able to launch three eggs at a time in the sling we had.  So that meant we had to pull the weight down to secure the throwing arm A LOT!  Unfortunately we were able to launch between 75-100 eggs before severe weather moved in and shut us down for the evening.  Gotta love Oklahoma weather!  Most of the eggs did not make it but a few did.  I was told on Twitter that there is an easier way to make omelets and I agree.  Overall the Scouts had a great time and so did I!

I can’t wait until next year when our entire family can serve as staff and we finally get to experience summer camp as a whole family and not just a few of us.


Posted on June 13, 2011, in Cub Scouts, Scouting, Summer Camp and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Can’t wait for next year when the whole family can be on staff!!

