Cub Scout Camp 2011


Cameron and Suzette at camp in 2010

Cub Scout camp is in full swing.  This week our district is holding our annual Twilight Camp and my wife is at Cub Scout Resident camp at Camp George Thomas with her Webelos Den, of which our youngest is a member.This is also the first time since 2004 that I have not been to Cub Scout camp with one of my boys.  I could have gone to resident camp but since the cost increased and money is really tight right now I opted to stay home this year.

In just eight short months my youngest son will crossover to the Troop and my days as the Cubmaster will be behind me.  I took over as Cubmaster in 2005 and have been full steam ahead since then.  My youngest son began his Scouting career as a Tiger in June 2007.  His older brother crossed over to Boy Scouts in February of 2007, so we have never had both boys in the same unit.

While I am very much looking forward to having just one unit I am going to miss Cub Scouts.  I will still be involved at some level.  I am on the District Committee and my wife is the Webelos Woods Chairman for next spring so I will still have ties to the program.

Going to be a long week sitting at work and not chasing Cub Scouts.  I hope that Cameron and Suzette have a great three days at camp.  I am going to miss them.

Posted on June 8, 2011, in Cub Scouts, Scouting, Summer Camp and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Cub Scout Camp 2011.

Comments are closed.

