Beginnings


One hour a week! That is what you hear everytime someone tries to get you to volunteer to be a Scouting leader. “It just takes one hour a week.” I think what they forget to tell you is that one hour a week is all you have left.

Now don’t get me wrong. I am not complaining. I am just being honest. I would do it if it was 40 hours a week and sometimes it is. Currently, I serve as a Cubmaster, Troop Committee Chair, Webelos Den Leader and Venturing Committee Chair. The first three keep me very busy. the last one not so much. The first three are very successful but the third is suffering and I can probably tell you why.

Why do I do it? Because I love my sons and I have grown to love and respect the people involved in all of the units I serve. The boys, girls and yes even the adults.

What is your 1 hour a week? Is it worth it? Mine is!

Posted on May 29, 2009, in Scouting. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Beginnings.

Comments are closed.

