Arrow of Light Plaques and Career Arrows


When my oldest son was a Webelos II and about to cross over to Boy Scouts, I wanted to do something special for him and his Den. They had earned their Arrow of Light award so we decided to make career arrows and plaques for each Scout that earned it.

When my youngest son and his Den earned their Arrow of Light we repeated the process. Here is how we did it:

To paint the career arrows we used the following color scheme:

  • Bobcat = Blue
  • Tiger = Orange
  • Wolf = Red
    • Gold Arrow Points = Gold
    • Silver Arrow Points = Silver (one stripe for each earned)
  • Bear = Light Blue
    • Gold Arrow Points = Gold
    • Silver Arrow Points = Silver (one stripe for each earned)
  • Webelos = Navy Blue
    • Activity Pins = White (one stripe for each earned)
  • Religious Emblem = Purple
  • Arrow of Light = Yellow

Beginning at the fletching (feathers) we left a small space and started with the Bobcat badge. Each rank was 1/2″ wide and arrow points and activity pins were 1/4″ wide. Between each I used a 1/8″ wide craft tape my son found at a local hobby store. I taped the whole thing and then painted it. I painted each rank and arrow point or activity award as he earned it. At the end closest to the arrowhead we filled the remaining space with yellow for the AoL. Each parent or guardian painted their own Scout’s arrow.

I also made plaques out of oak for each Scout to hang their arrows on. Another Dad from the Den and my wife, Suzette, were a big help with these.

The boys loved them and I had a blast making them.

Posted on February 7, 2012, in Arrow of Light, Cub Scouts, Scouting, Webelos. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,503 other followers

